Smiley Piercing Experience, Info Etc.

Hey guys! I know this post is months over due but its here. I posted a picture of what my smiley piercing looked like in case you guys still don’t know what it is. SO as you can see, its a piercing of the small piece of skin that connects your lip and gums. I took it out today for reasons I will will go into detail about later. But, while I had it in, I got A LOT of the same questions so I’ll answer them here in case you guys are wondering!

FAQ

1.) Did it hurt?!?

  • Nope! It was the most painless piercing I’ve ever gotten. On a scale of 1-10 I’d rate it a 2!

2.) Why did you get it?

  • I got it because nobody I know had it, its very unique, and I find it pretty dope.

3.) How much did it cost?

  • I paid $50 for it, I got it done in Wildwood, NJ.

4.) What was healing like?

  • Healing was a breeze, by far the easiest of all my piercings. It only took about a week and all I had to do was rinse my mouth with alcohol free mouthwash or a homemade sea salt water mix whenever I ate, smoked, etc.

So, those were the most common questions I got about my smiley but if you have any more feel free to ask! I love talking about body mods!

I’m sure what you guys are wondering now is why I took it out. Well, I got it done at a boardwalk piercing shop (which I regret and would NOT recommend to anyone) and basically the guy was not as familiar with the piercing as he should have been and he pierced the hole crookedly. I wasn’t able to notice when I had my starter jewelry in, but once I upgraded to a curved barbell, like in the picture, it was pretty obvious. The jewelry is supposed to hang over your two front teeth and mine was off center. Over time it started to migrate more off center and today I realized that if I left it in much longer it would just fall out. So, I took it out. I plan to let it heal and get it re-pierced in November because I’m already missing it! Andif anyone has any questions, comments, advice on the smiley, or if you want to know what the process is like, feel free to let me know!

Image

Leave a comment